UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI STUDENT GOVERNMENT SUPREME COURT

Dear Speaker Adeleke:

The Select Commission on Impeachment wishes to present its findings with regard to the two impeachment charges brought against the Speaker Pro Tempore of the Senate, Randall Fitzgerald, on February 3, 2020. After careful consideration, the Select Commission on Impeachment has not found a preponderance of evidence to continue the impeachment efforts and therefore will not be authoring Articles of Impeachment. Below, our processes, decision making procedures, and findings are summarized. Charges were submitted by two Senators, in accordance with the processes outlined in the Student Government Constitution. The charges were as follows:

- 1. Abuse of Authority
- 2. Conduct or actions unbecoming of such persons holding such offices or positions within Student Government

Following the receipt of the charges, the Select Commission on Impeachment was formed, chaired by Associate Chief Justice Anthony Hoffman. The Select Commission on Impeachment subsequently entered a twenty day investigatory phase. Throughout the twenty day period, commission conducted several depositions with members of Student Government and the student body at large. None of the names of deponents shall be made public, nor will the testimony said deponents presented. The Select Commission found that allegations against the Speaker Pro Tempore were largely personal in nature, rather than genuine infractions of the Student Government Statutes or Constitution. The Select Commission reached its conclusion

UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI STUDENT GOVERNMENT SUPREME COURT

after careful consideration of all testimony and evidence presented. As a body, the Select Commission wished to stress the gravity and magnitude of the situation. Our decision was not made lightly or quickly, and we believe that we have come to the most objective and just conclusion possible.

Sincerely,

The Select Commission on Impeachment

Anthony Hoffman Associate Chief Justice, Chair of the Select Commission

Shaurya Lal Associate Justice, Select Commission

Vignesh Selvaraj Associate Justice, Select Commission

Daria Pietropaolo Associate Justice, Select Commission

Tyler Malaussena Associate Justice, Select Commission